Click Here

You are Here: Home > Baseball > History > Dick Howser Trophy

Dick Howser Trophy

The Dick Howser Award is presented annually to college baseball's top player - similar in respect to the Most Valuable Player Award. The award was created in 1987 and winners were selected by the American Baseball Coaches Association until 1998. In 1999 the National College Baseball Writers Association took over the selection process and since then it has been referred to as the "Heisman Trophy of College Baseball."

The Dick Howser Trophy is also, and probably more importantly, a national sponsorship that was created on behalf of Dick Howser himself to promote baseball excellence and scholastic achievement for collegiate baseball. Education is one of the country's biggest concerns and through sports will bring an enhanced national focus.

Year Player Name (Quantity) College
1987 Mike Fiore (1) University of Miami
1988 Robin Ventura (1) Oklahoma State University
1989 Scott Bryant (1) University of Texas at Austin
1990 Alex Fernandez (1) Miami-Dade Community College
1991 Frank Rodriguez (1) Howard Junior College
1992 Brooks Kieschnick (1) University of Texas at Austin
1993 Brooks Kieschnick (2) University of Texas at Austin
1994 Jason Varitek (1) Georgia Institute of Technology
1995 Todd Helton (1) University of Tennessee
1996 Kris Benson (1) Clemson University
1997 J.D. Drew (1) Florida State University
1998 Eddy Furniss (1) Louisiana State University
1999 Jason Jennings (1) Baylor University
2000 Mark Teixeira (1) Georgia Institute of Technology
2001 Mark Prior (1) University of Southern California
2002 Khalil Greene (1) Clemson University
2003 Rickie Weeks (1) Southern University
2004 Jered Weaver (1) Long Beach State University
2005 Alex Gordon (1) University of Nebraska
2006 Brad Lincoln (1) University of Houston