Click Here

You are Here: Home > Baseball > History > Manager of the Year Award

Manager of the Year Award

The Baseball Writers' Association of America Manager of the Year Award was first awarded at the completion of the 1983 season. The honor is awarded to the Major League manager who takes the talent given to him by the team owner and accomplishes more than expected.

Past winners have included World Series winners and skippers who have taken a team from the cellar and put them in the chase for a pennant

The voting system awards points to the managers for first place (5), second place (3), and third place (1). Those votes are combined and the manager with the most wins.

American League
Year Manager Team
1983 Tony LaRussa Chicago
1984 Sparky Anderson Detroit
1985 Bobby Cox Toronto
1986 John McNamara Boston
1987 Sparky Anderson Detroit
1988 Tony LaRussa Oakland
1989 Frank Robinson Baltimore
1990 Jeff Torborg Chicago
1991 Tom Kelly Minnesota
1992 Tony LaRussa Oakland
1993 Gene Lamont Chicago
1994 Buck Showalter New York
1995 Lou Piniella Seattle
1996 Joe Torre New York
Johnny Oates Texas
1997 Davey Johnson Baltimore
1998 Joe Torre New York
1999 Jimy Williams Boston
2000 Jerry Manuel Chicago
2001 Lou Piniella Seattle
2002 Mike Scioscia Anaheim
2003 Tony Peņa Kansas City
2004 Buck Showalter Texas
2005 Ozzie Guillen Chicago
2006 Jim Leyland Detroit
National League
Year Manager Team
1983 Tommy Lasorda Los Angeles
1984 Jim Frey Chicago
1985 Whitey Herzog St. Louis
1986 Hal Lanier Houston
1987 Buck Rodgers Montreal
1988 Tommy Lasorda Los Angeles
1989 Don Zimmer Chicago
1990 Jim Leyland Pittsburgh
1991 Bobby Cox Atlanta
1992 Jim Leyland Pittsburgh
1993 Dusty Baker San Francisco
1994 Felipe Alou Montreal
1995 Don Baylor Colorado
1996 Bruce Bochy San Diego
1997 Dusty Baker San Francisco
1998 Larry Dierker Houston
1999 Jack McKeon Cincinnati
2000 Dusty Baker San Francisco
2001 Larry Bowa Philadelphia
2002 Tony La Russa St. Louis
2003 Jack McKeon Florida
2004 Bobby Cox Atlanta
2005 Bobby Cox Atlanta
2006 Joe Girardi Florida