You are Here: Home > Wrestling > WWE > WWF World Junior Heavyweight Title
WWF World Junior Heavyweight Title
Name Date Location Notes
Johnny Defazzio 1967    
Jackie Nicholas      
Johnny Defazzio (2)      
Jackie Nicholas (2)      
Johnny Defazzio (3)     1
Johnny Defazzio (4)     2
Carlos Jose Estrada January 20, 1978 Uniondale, New York 3
Tatsumi Fujinami January 23, 1978 New York City, New York  
Ryuma Go October 2, 1979 Osaka, Japan  
Tatsumi Fujinami (2) October 4, 1979 Tokyo, Japan 4
Tiger Mask (Satoru Sayama) January 1, 1982 Tokyo, Japan 5
Black Tiger (Mark Rocco) May 6, 1982 Fukuoka, Japan 6
Tiger Mask (2) May 26, 1982 Osaka, Japan 7
Tiger Mask (3) June 13, 1983 Mexico City, Mexico 8
Dynamite Kid February 7, 1984 Tokyo, Japan 9
The Cobra December 28, 1984 New York City, New York 10
Hiro Saito May 20, 1985 Hiroshima, Japan  
The Cobra (2) July 28, 1985 Osaka, Japan 11
Naoki Sano December 12, 1991 Tokyo, Japan 12


  1. All of Jackie Nicholas' title wins took place somewhere in New England.

  2. Johnny Defazzio vacated the title in 1972 upon retirement.

  3. Carlos Jose Estrada defeated Tony Garea for the title.

  4. Tatsumi Fujinami defeated NWA World Junior Heavyweight Champion, Les Thorton, on July 31, 1981 in Osaka, Japan, the NWA title was not on the line in the match. The title is then vacated in December of 1981 when Fujinami entered the heavyweight division.

  5. Tiger Mask (Saturo Sayama) defeated Dynamite Kid for the title. Then vacated the title in April
    of 1982 due to an injury.

  6. Black Tiger (Mark Rocco) defeated Gran Hamada for the title.

  7. The title was vacated on April 3, 1983 after Tiger Mask was injured by the Dynamite Kid in a tag
    team match on April 1, 1983. On April 3, 1983, Dynamite Kid and Kuniaki Kobyashi fought for
    the title and no winner was declared.

  8. Tiger Mask defeated Fishman for the title. Then he vacated the title on August 12, 1983 when Tiger Mask retired.

  9. Dynamite Kid wins a triangular match by defeating Davey Boy Smith for the title on February 3, 1984
    in Sapporo, Japan and the Cobra on February 7, 1984. He vacated the title in November of 1984 when
    he and Davey Boy Smith jumped to All-Japan wrestling. The WWF took over Georgia Championship
    Wrestling in July of 1984, NWA champion Les Thorton was wrestling as the WWF champion.

  10. The Cobra defeatred Black Tiger.

  11. The title was vacated on October 31, 1985 when New Japan and the WWF split. Shiro Koshinaka
    defeated the Cobra on February 6, 1986 in Tokyo, Japan to become the firstr IWGP Junior Heavyweight champion.

  12. Naoki Sano defeated Rick Martel on a Super World Sports card. The title was then abandoned
    when SWS closed its promotion in June of 1992. This may not have direct lineage to the WWF title.